Checking Parts

First thing I do with any new build is to spread all the parts on my table ordered by their type. I want to make sure, that I have all I need. With this kit all was very easy. Usually such projects start  with a hunt for parts, but not here. Everything already there and properly labelled. Well, almost everything…

I found out, that the supplied fuse wasn´t the right size. Not a big deal, one email to TAD later I was promised to get the right one soon.

What I could not make out is how the eyelet boards were intended to be fastened to the chassis. The number and size of the supplied screws suggest, that the eyelet board should be directly held by two screws and their respective nuts. Only with another blank isolation board between it and the chassis. I decided to use my own M4 screws for that and use some more nuts as spacers inbetween the boards.

A little more documentation on how the mechnical parts were intended to be used would have been nice. At least a drawing for the placement of the two holes was included.

But beware! You need to drill four more holes! The filter caps needs two and there is a solder terminal that also wants two holes. And this goes into a thick sheet of chrome steel. I´m fortunate to have a good box column drill. But I have an itch that not every DIYer has one. So this could be an issue to some.

I personally had more concerns with the two holes that need to go into the enclosure. It´s easy to drill in the soft wood, but also very easy to misplace these holes and it would be a mess! I managed to get them right, but you need extra care. I have no idea why TAD doesn´t put them in in the first place.

One thought on “Checking Parts

  1. I forgot to mention that you also need to drill holes into the eyelet board and its isolation sheet. But these are easy to drill and placement of the holes can easily be taken from the already drilled holes in the chassis.

Leave a comment